Power and Race

A powersports and auto racing community.

Red Bull's Secret to Formula 1 Success
Facebook Tweet Google+ Pinterest Email More Sharing Options

Red Bull's Secret to Formula 1 Success

Red Bull is known the world over for its energy drink, but Formula 1 fans have grown to respect it as a racing team.  Red Bull has had a long relationship with Formula 1, even before it started to race. Before racing on the tracks Red Bull conducted, and continues to do so, a young drivers sponsorship program with luminaries such as Christian Klien and Scott Speed. Red Bull also sponsors many drivers and  teams in the GP@ series, which is a Formula 1 “feeder” series.

Red Bull entered into Formula 1 racing after it bought Ford’s Jaguar racing in November 2004. Red Bull reportedly bought the team for $1 and a commitment to invest $400 million over 3 seasons.

In 2005 Red Bull had a better season than its Jaguar predecessor by consistently scoring points.  It had David Coulthard as its main driver along with the two junior drivers, Christian Klien and Vitantonio Liuzzi. Red Bull did something more interesting that same first year of racing, it bought another team.

In November 2005 Minardi owner Paul Stodard sold the team to Red Bull. Red Bull changed the team name to Scuderia Toro Rosso, which means Team Red Bull in Italian. Scuderia Toro Rosso is run independently from the Red Bull team, but is used to give young drivers training and experience for the Red Bull team. Sebastien Vettel was promoted from Scuderia Toro Rosso to Red Bull in 2008.

Scuderia Racing has a lack lustre record in formula 1. In its ten years of racing it has competed in 170 races to date and only won one race which was its only podium finish in its history. That podium finish was in the 2008 Italian Grand Prix courtesy of Sebastien Vettel.

The Red Bull team has had a far much more successful and impressive history. To date, Red Bull has entered 189 races and won 50 of those races. Red Bull has won the Constructor’s Championship in 2010, 2011, 2012, and 2013.  Mark Webber and Sebastien Vettel were the team’s drivers for those seasons. Sebastien Vettel also won the Driver’s Championship in 2010, 2011, 2012, and 2013.

The Red Bull team has undeniably dominated the past five years of Formula 1 racing, and will be a championship contender for the years to come. What Red Bull has achieved in just ten years is truly phenomenal and has injected new life into Formula 1.

Yes! Send me a full color racing trailer brochure from Haulmark.

Thanks! Your full color brochure will be on its way soon.


Connect with Power and Race

Sign Up to Vote!

10 second sign-up with Facebook or Google

Already a member? Log in to vote.